My toddler’s love for books

I have always loved reading books fiction, non fiction, autobiographies, travelogues anything and everything. I wanted to share the joy of reading books with my little one as well :). I started showing her cloth /rag books from very early on, i guess she was four months old. Initially it was just another toy for her which had colors, shapes and patterns but she simply loved looking at them. Then I introduced some touch and feel cloth books which are good for baby’s sensory development . She loved the crinkly sounds 🙂 made by books like the snuggle book and the Lamaze book. These were instrumental in building the foundation for the love of books. As she grew, the type of books changed. I started reading to her everyday, still do 🙂  of course it becomes a little challenging when they are mobile, she wouldn’t stay in once place but i would read to her everyday and slowly, steadily she started developing interest in books. She is 16 months old now and would not stop looking at books, she will choose and bring the books to me or her dad and would want us to read everyday, several times in a day. I love to watch  the way she picks up a book herself, looking at the front cover first and turning to have a look at the back as if she understands it all (Who knows, may be they do :)). She has her favorites, some of them she never ever liked, some books had to wait for the love and attention from the little one. I will be sharing details of the books in another post.IMG_8364

3 thoughts on “My toddler’s love for books

  1. A love for reading is probably the most precious gift that a parent can give a child. I’m sure your little girl will thank you for the love, thought and effort you are investing in her today. Hope other parents take a page from your book and are inspired to follow your ways. Do keep writing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

